A Good Lie

MAKE UP A REALLY GOOD LIE ABOUT YOURSELF TO TELL A STRANGER. INVENT A STORY TO BACK IT UP. – via The Steal Like an Artist Journal

When I was 7, I met Fred Rogers. It was 2002. August, I think. I went ot Pittsburgh with my dad to drop my stepsister off at the airport. Fred was at the airport and I went up to him and told him about how Barney came to my 2nd birthday party.

I’ve found that any good lie comes from mixing it with the truth. The truth is in the details. The first time I remember going to Pittsburgh was to drop my stepsister off at the airport, although that was probably 2003. I’ve never met Fred Rogers, but he lived in Pittsburgh all of his life and died in 2003. Barney did come to my 2nd birthday party.

I would never want to actually tell this lie as if it were the truth. My life is weird enough without fabricating anything. That’s why I stick to writing fiction for the most part. When I write non-fiction, no one believes me.

lie.png

Leave a Reply

