Mynewshe: Hipsters

Putting the dent in identity.

In my last post, I talked about hipsters. So I decided to dedicate this post to hipsters and how I’m not one. Not really.
Check out these test results.

I got a second opinion. BuzzFeed asked if I was a circle, because I have no edge.

Still kind of made at the friends who have called me a hipster, or else tell me that I am too concerned with labels. Yes, I enjoy labels! it’s a form of cataloging people!

As a rural millennial, I’ve been fascinated by hipster culture for a number of years. My first Tumblr post was a rant about hipster, and my second made fun of Michael Cera’s hipster mustache. This was back in 2012, and I’m ashamed of the complacent, soapbox, shit show it was. Let’s stop talking about it.

It pisses me off that you’re considered a hipster if you shop at thrift stores. I shop at thrift stores because I’m poor. I live in an area rife with individuals who live with LES, and with that I want to say one of the things to hate about hipster culture is that it glorifies poverty, thinking it makes you bohemian.

But I went to my friends about the Astrohaus Freewrite and asked if I would look like a hipster if I got one, this was before I knew how expensive they were, and the best response I received was this.

If you like it get it that’s all that matters

Simple. Pretty much common sense, but to quote a professor of mine, Reverand Jeremy Justus, our culture craves authenticity, and my generation fears inauthenticity like our parents feared terrorism in the 2000s.

Millenials care about identity, but we are in a world so oversaturated with social cohesion it’s hard to tell who is being influenced by who and what facets of one’s identity are organic, because everybody loves organic.

As Jeff Wise of Psychology Today puts it, when discussing the article “Demythologizing Consumption Practices: How Consumers Protect Their Field-Dependent Identity Investments from Devaluing Marketplace Myths.”

In general, psychologists who study consumers understand that people are largely motivated to spend money not just on things that they materially need, but that bolster their sense of identity. They purchase not just goods and services, but mythologies. Imagining themselves as rugged, rebellious patriots, they buy a Harley-Davidson. Imagining themselves as respected and well-heeled, they buy a Lexus.

Hipsters, though, follow a different paradigm. Their problem is that their purchases tend to place them within a category whose mythology they despise. That’s right: Nobody likes hipsters, not even hipsters.

Maybe I am a hipster, because that would explain the self-loathing.

Anyway, I could go on, but I think I will soon be completely incomprehensible, so I’m done.

Leave a Reply

